chaseasmith

A fine WordPress.com site

2012 World Series

The San Francisco Giants defeated the Detroit Tigers tonight to be crowned the 2012 World Series Champions.  The Giants beat the Tigers in each of the first four games of the series to complete the “sweep”.  I have spent the past fifteen years of my life worshiping the sport of baseball.  But this year, I must admit, I paid very little attention to the championship series of the 2012 season.  
Being a Minnesota Twins fan I have become accustomed to despise anything that has to do with the AL Central which doesn’t include the Twins.  The Tigers, however, happen to hail from the same division.
Not to mention, I am also a Texas Rangers fan. The Giants won the World Series a mere three years ago and defeated, you guessed it, the Texas Rangers. If I wasn’t already bitter towards the Giants for beating one of my favorite teams in the championship, I most certainly am now. If I wanted to see the same team win the championship every year I would wear a New York Yankees jersey five days out of the week.
In ESPN’s article it sounded like the series was very bland besides the fact that the Giants’ third baseman Pablo Sandoval had an impressive .500 batting average throughout the series.
When it is all said and done, I am glad to say that it is no longer baseball season and we can all go back to focusing on our fantasy football teams each Sunday rather than keeping an open mind to the World Series.

Leave a comment